Forum

Go Back   Puzzle Baron Forums > Puzzle Baron > Circuits

Old 05-02-2015, 12:40 AM

Default maybe I'm a stat junkie, but...

I'm a newb here, and it's taking a while for me to grasp how much each factor (board size and difficulty, time) affects the scoring. I'm not sure either how difficult each board is, as I may have used a poorer approach on some than on others, how to judge?

I'm thinking that others may have a similar issue, so I've started recording my results as comments, X s (seconds) X t (turns) X p (points). eg: 492s 383t 69p

Hope others find it helpful. If I repeat a board several times it will become more useful, as we'll be able to compare the results and see, for example, that if a similar number of turns are used, and it's 100s quicker, it will make a difference of, oh, THAT many points. On that particular board.
Old 05-02-2015, 04:14 PM

Just played a board where someone else has put up this same information in the comments.

Player x - 249s 192t 56p
Sillyface- 172s 110t 52p

I'd have to guess that the score given is dependent upon previous player's performance, it certainly doesn't seem to be intrinsic to the board layout.
Old 05-21-2015, 01:18 AM

I'm starting to post five stats, the first three as before, followed by the fastest time under the bell curve, then the slowest time under the bell curve.
Old 05-21-2015, 05:18 AM

I wonder if the scoring system has changed. When I first started playing, setting a record on a 5x5 board would garner 4 points. Now when I set a record on the same size board, I get 8 points.
Old 05-21-2015, 01:51 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by sillyface View Post
I'm starting to post five stats, the first three as before, followed by the fastest time under the bell curve, then the slowest time under the bell curve.
I like that idea, how about we do something like this:
268s 312t 132p
208h 1860L

I chose Upper case 'h' and 'l' because lower case 'l' looks weird with the numbers.
Old 05-21-2015, 09:00 PM