Foreign sentence or phrase in cryptos

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Foreign sentence or phrase in cryptos

I have run into my second crypto which has a sentence in another language, then the same sentence again in English. The first one, a couple of months ago, was Spanish & English - the one today was French & English. I studied some French many (many, many) years ago, but the Spanish/English really gave me fits.

I understand using a word or two, but a whole sentence in another language, seems a little unfair. If I knew Spanish well enough to solve cryptos in Spanish, then I'd try to find a Spanish language site with cryptograms.

Maybe I am a little touchy - I'd kind of like to know how other solvers feel about that.

There's nothing particularly tricky about xenocrypts, provided you can find a good word list. But they should be marked as xenocrypts.

IOW, the language should be specified.

I remember banging my head against an unspecified xenocrypt for a good long time - I kept going back to it for weeks. Turned out to be the first two verses of Jaberwocky, translated into Italian. I don't know if it would have been easier, had I known it was Italian, since most of the words were invented.

Brillineggiava, ed i tovoli slati
    girlavano ghimbanti nella vaba;
    I borogovi eran tutti mimanti
    e la moma radeva fuorigraba.

"Figliuolo mio, sta' attento al gibrovacco,
    dagli artigli e dal morso lacerante;
    fuggi l'uccello giuggiolo, e nel sacco
    metti infine il frumioso bandifante".

-- Lewis Carroll, "Jabberwocky"

Comment

xenocyptic puzzles are a pain

Originally posted by maradnu
      I have run into my second crypto which has a sentence in another language, then the same sentence again in English. The first one, a couple of months ago, was Spanish & English - the one today was French & English. I studied some French many (many, many) years ago, but the Spanish/English really gave me fits.