What patterns to look for?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What patterns to look for?

Hey! I'm fairly new to cryptograms (I was introduced to this website by a friend at the start of the month) and suffice to say it's become a bit of an addiction. I don't do this for practice for SciOly or anything; it's just a hobby. But my competitive self sees those crazy short times on the leaderboards... and wants to get there! My solve times are slow, though, and I tend to give up if there isn't the word "the", "a", or "i" in the puzzle (which means my solve percentage is about 40%... oops). Anyway, the point is, I'm looking for some tips as to what other patterns I can look for in puzzles, especially short puzzles (with long words), that would make my life a lot easier. Thanks in advance!

Edit: I can usually find patterns like "-tion", "-ing" and other things like that once I get a good start... it's just starting that's the issue.

the list is long and I'm sure I would miss a lot, plus there's lots I don't know. Make mental notes about which words come up a lot, as well as which words have the same pattern given certain letters (ex. always and afraid when u have the A in place), then just do a bunch of cryptograms and you'll learn them! Anyways here's a (very incomplete bc I'm coming up with them right now) quick list of common words