How?!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How?!

Maybe I'm just not as knowledgeable about vocabulary as I thought, but how in the world is the average amount of words on most quizzes between 55-65 words? I'm incredibly impressed with the members here and how well you do on these puzzles!

Hey, everyone playing this game either has a big vocabulary to start with or develops one. You can't play the game otherwise! SO -- play the game for about six months and watch what happens to YOUR vocabulary. You'll impress yourself. Your typing speed will improve, too. Just don't fall into the common trap of thinking that the really, really good players must somehow be cheating. There have been cheaters in the past, but they're obvious -- no one can type 300 wpm, for example. Some people really are incredibly good. Perhaps you could be, too. You never know until you try.

Comment

Your reaction is similar to mine when I started playing here. I was pretty good at Boggle and thought I'd be above average here, but when I started out I averaged about 25 words per game and was confused that everyone else was so much better. Pretty soon I got "average" scores consistently, and a few years later I'm usually above average and am averaging about 75 words per 2-minute game, my personal best is 122 words in 120 seconds (using the swiping method on my phone).