How do I get better at cryptograms?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How do I get better at cryptograms?

I can't solve most of the cryptograms I get, so I just end up skipping them. I want that to not happen, so what do I do?

Hi Theaxatium, I'm no expert and I've been solving for years. I just barely break 100 seconds much of the time but I keep trying. Some might call it cheating but I use a cryptogram solver called "quipqiup" when i'm thoroughly stuck, but not all the time. Also, look for word patterns such as THAT, PEOPLE, GOOD, THE and also look for most used letters such as "T" or "E" or the vowels. I hope some of the other great solvers pipe-in and give you some solid tips that will get you into the top 20. But above all else, don't give up. I've only seen the BARON Airplane a few times and it's exhilarating. That's all I have to offer. Good luck and continue solving you'll get better over time.

Comment

One more comment. Try a famous quote site and look-up the author of the quote.

Comment

Originally posted by Synonymous View Post
        One more comment. Try a famous quote site and look-up the author of the quote.
        I thought about doing that, but thought it might get me banned.

Comment

Hey Theaxatium! Looking quotes up is definitely allowed- there would be no way to enforce a rule like that even if there was one in place. Some users on this website don't like it, but mostly it's okay. However, I would recommend only using the quote websites when you absolutely need them.

I see you only joined Puzzle Baron this month, so you have plenty of time to improve! I first started solving cryptograms in September, and my progress has been immense since then. Even if your solve rates are low at first, don't be discouraged!